A storm approaches Cancun, Mexico.
(©iStock.com/Margarita Shudro)

As a preemptive measure before Tropical Storm Dorian’s arrival, Delta Air Lines has preemptively issued a weather travel waiver for five Caribbean airports.

This weather waiver spans four days: August 26, 27, 28, and 29. The affected airports are:

  • Punta Cana (PUJ)
  • Port-au-Prince (PAP)
  • San Juan (SJU)
  • Santo Domingo (SDQ)
  • St. Lucia (UVF)

Tickets must be reissued on or before September 5, with rebooked travel commencing no later than the 5th as well.

Passengers may make a one-time change to their respective itineraries without being assessed a fee, though fare differences may apply.

“There are currently no schedule adjustments planned for flights to and from the islands, though Delta’s operational teams are keeping an eye on the storm and will make adjustments as needed,” Delta said in a statement. “The airline will also send generators to Punta Cana, Port-au-Prince, Santiago, Santo Domingo and St. Lucia to ensure Delta teams will have access to electricity should the storm cause power outages at the airports.”

Meanwhile, a tropical storm watch has been issued for Puerto Rico.

Visit the weather waiver’s alert for more information and learn more in general about Delta weather waivers.

— Chris

Does Your Credit Card Provide Trip Interruption Coverage? These Do!

The Chase Ink Business Preferred card


Chase Ink Business Preferred Card


Learn more about the Chase Sapphire Reserve at renespoints.com/csr


Chase Sapphire Reserve Card


The Chase Sapphire Preferred travel rewards credit card.


Chase Sapphire Preferred Card

Write A Comment